SEEC Co-Chair Statement on the Resignation of EPA Administrator Scott Pruitt

Jul 5, 2018 Issues: Environment

Washington D.C. – Today SEEC Co-Chairs Reps. Gerry Connolly, Doris Matsui, and Paul Tonko released the following statement in response to the resignation of EPA Administrator Scott Pruitt.

“While we welcome news of Administrator Pruitt’s resignation, the real scandal is that it took this long for him to resign. Throughout his tenure as the head of the Environment Protection Agency, Mr. Pruitt repeatedly put industry profit ahead of public health and demonstrated a willingness to use his public office for personal gain. It’s been clear for a long time that Scott Pruitt is unfit to lead.

It is our sincere hope that the next Administrator will be committed to the EPA’s core mission: the protection of our public health and the environment. Whoever takes over as Administrator can certainly expect that we will continue to demand the highest level of accountability.”