Task Forces

SEEC currently has four task forces focused on tackling key aspects of the climate crisis in need of increased congressional attention.


Press Releases:

Task Forces Launch

Nature and Oceans Task Force Launch


In the News:

Washington Post: House Democrats to launch three climate task forces

CNN: House Democrats announce three new task forces to address the climate crisis

Washington Post: House Democrats to launch task force on nature, oceans


Climate and Agriculture Task Force

This task force will build on the increasing engagement by American farmers on climate change issues in the lead up to the reauthorization of the Farm Bill, to ensure that bill is the most climate-friendly Farm Bill Congress has ever considered. Additionally, the task force will also investigate other aspects of U.S. food policy and threats to U.S. agricultural and forest lands posed by climate change.

Co-Chair Chellie Pingree (ME-1)

Co-Chair Kim Schrier (WA-8)

Earl Blumenauer (OR-3)

Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE-AL)

Julia Brownley (CA-26)

Chrissy Houlahan (PA-6)

Jared Huffman (CA-2)

Ann McLane Kuster (NH-2)

Doris Matsui (CA-6)

Jim McGovern (MA-2)

Jimmy Panetta (CA-20)


Climate and National Security Task Force

This task force will expand upon the growing consensus that climate change poses a national security threat to the United States. Congress acknowledged this via an amendment authored by Rep. Langevin to the Fiscal Year 2018 National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) that climate change “is a direct threat to the national security of the United States.” This task force will focus on the need to make the U.S. military more climate-resilient and to mitigate the military’s own emissions, as well as other foreign policy considerations that are exacerbated by the climate crisis.

Co-Chair Jim Langevin (RI-2)

Co-Chair Katie Porter (CA-45)

Jake Auchincloss (MA-4)

Jason Crow (CO-6)

Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11)

Debbie Dingell (MI-12)

Derek Kilmer (WA-6)

Ted Lieu (CA-33)

Donald McEachin (VA-4)


Power Sector Task Force

This task force will focus on what additional actions are needed to decarbonize this sector of our economy, which is vital for the rest of our economy to fully decarbonize as well. The task force will build on the important down payments made in the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act to modernize our grid, as well as continue to push for the even greater power sector investments in the House-passed Build Back Better Act. In particular, the task force will examine reforms to our transmission system to ensure the renewable energy future can be achieved at the scale and speed required to meet this crisis.

Co-Chair Sean Casten (IL-6)

Co-Chair Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-8)

Suzanne Bonamici (OR-1)

Mike Levin (CA-49)

David Price (NC-4)

Darren Soto (FL-9)

Paul Tonko (NY-20)

Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12)

Peter Welch (VT-AL)


Nature and Oceans Task Force

The Nature and Oceans Task Force will focus on actions that prioritize natural climate solutions (NCS) – the conversation, restoration, and management of our lands and waters. As the nation continues to face a nature and biodiversity crisis, the task force will tackle these issues with legislative efforts targeted towards reaching the goal of net-zero greenhouse gas emissions by 2050. The National Academy of Sciences reported that NCS can help combat these twin threats and deliver up to a third of the emission reductions needed by 2030. 

Co-Chair Doris Matsui (CA-6)

Co-Chair Joe Neguse (CO-2)

Chellie Pingree (ME-01)

Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)

Jared Huffman (CA-02)

Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01)

John Sarbanes (MD-03)

Salud Carbajal (CA-24)

Ted Lieu (CA-33)

Derek Kilmer (WA-06).