SEEC Members Continue Call for Sustainable Infrastructure at T&I Committee Member Day Hearing

May 2, 2019
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C.  (May 2, 2019) – This week members of the House Sustainable Energy and Environment Coalition (SEEC) continued their call for a broad-reaching sustainable infrastructure proposal that addresses climate change during the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee’s member day hearing. Nine members of the coalition went before the Committee to discuss green infrastructure policies relating to transportation, water infrastructure, and more. They emphasized the importance of key investments and policies that will reduce harmful greenhouse gas emissions and make our communities more resilient.

These testimonies follow a letter SEEC members sent this March to House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, Majority Leader Steny Hoyer, Transportation & Infrastructure Committee Chairman Peter DeFazio and Energy & Commerce Committee Chairman Frank Pallone calling for a broad-reaching sustainable infrastructure plan that includes bold policies to address climate change.

During her testimony on Wednesday, SEEC Co-Chair Rep Doris Matsui called on the Committee to treat SEEC’s sustainable infrastructure proposal as a guide in drafting their infrastructure bill.  Her full remarks can be found here. A full list of SEEC members testifying on sustainable infrastructure can be found below, along with links to their remarks. SEEC’s letter and proposal will also be submitted for the record.

SEEC Members testifying to the need for sustainable, environmentally sound infrastructure:

Rep. Ilhan Omar

Rep. Mike Quigley

Rep. Earl Blumenauer

Rep. Scott Peters

Rep. Deb Haaland

Rep. Peter Welch

Rep. Pramila Jayapal

Rep. Joe Neguse



The Sustainable Energy and Environment Coalition (SEEC) is a coalition of over 60 members of the U.S. House of Representatives that was founded in January 2009 to be a focused, active, and effective coalition for advancing policies that address climate change, promote clean energy innovation and domestic manufacturing, develop renewable energy resources, create good green jobs, protect our nation’s clean air, water and natural environment, and promote environmental justice. 

SEEC is Co-Chaired by Reps. Paul Tonko (D-NY), Gerald Connolly (D-VA), and Doris Matsui (D-CA).

SEEC Vice-Chairs are Reps. A Donald McEachin (D-VA), Chellie Pingree (D-ME), Matt Cartwright (D-PA), Alan Lowenthal (D-CA), and Mike Quigley (D-IL).